Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

August 2015

Staffing Changes

(29 July 2015)

A number of staffing changes have been recently announced across the Faculty. The following members of staff will be in place for the start of the next academic year:




Ian Scott

Assistant Associate Dean for Internationalisation


School of Arts, Languages and Cultures

Steve Hutchings

Interim Head of School

Thomas Schmidt

Head of Art, History, Drama & Music

Julie-Marie Strange

Head of History

Roy Gibson

Director of Research

Liam Hart

Director of UG

Ana Carden-Coyne

Director of External Relations

David Brown

Director of PGT

Andrew Koontz-Garboden

Director of Recruitment & Admissions


School of Environment, Education and Development

Richard Kingston

Head of Planning and Environment Management

Noel Castree

Head of Geography

Kirstin Kerr

Associate Director of Research

Dave Spendlove

Associate Director of Initial Teacher Education

Ray Lucas

Head of Architecture

Jen O'Brien

Director of Social Responsibility


School of Law

Carolyn Abbot

Deputy Head

Graham Smith

Director of Social Responsibility


Manchester Business School

Nikolay Mehandjiev

Head of Management Sciences & Marketing

Debra Howcroft

Head of People, Management and Organisation

Elaine Ferneley

Global & MBA Director for MBSW

Anna Goatman

Academic Director of UG programmes


School of Social Sciences

Martyn Andrews

Head of Economics
(Teaching and Operations plus Research and Strategy)

Francesca Gains

Head of Politics

Stuart Shields

Director of PGR

Ken Clark

Director of Teaching, Learning and Students