Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

March 2016

Senate elections result

(4 March 2016)

The results of the Senate elections have been announced with three new Humanities academics being elected.

The academics will sit on the principal academic body responsible for monitoring standards in teaching and promoting research from 1 September 2016, alongside academic colleagues from the re- designated Faculty of Science and Engineering and the newly established Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health.

Following a ballot of all academic and research staff in the Faculty, the following staff have been elected for the Faculty of Humanities:

  • Dr Steven Jones, School of Environment, Education and Development;
  • Dr Ina Berg, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures;
  • Dr Soumhya Venkatesan, School of Social Sciences.   

Each will serve from 1 September 2016 to 31 August 2019.

Due to a member of Senate leaving the University part-way through their term, an additional place for a two-year term has arisen and Professor Mark Elliot, School of Social Sciences, will fill this place from 1 September 2016 to 31 August 2018.