Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Recent news

Staff, students and research shortlisted for awards

(27 April 2017)

This week we recognise staff, students and research shortlisted for a range of prestigious awards.  

ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize

The annual Economic and Social Research (ESRC) Celebrating Impact Prize, now in its fifth year, is an opportunity to recognise and reward researchers whose work has made a real difference to society or the economy. 

Our research has been recognised in two categories of the prestigious prize. 

  • Bringing fuel poverty in from the cold: addressing the knowledge and policy gaps across Europe, by Dr Harriet Thomson, School of Environment, Education and Development, is shortlisted in the Outstanding Early Career Impact category.
  • Unexpected political shocks: informing the public and shaping the polling industry, led by Professor Jane Green, School of Social Sciences, is shortlisted in the Outstanding Impact in Society category. 


The LawWorks and Attorney General Student Awards 2017

The Awards, run by LawWorks with the support of the Attorney General, Jeremy Wright QC MP, recognise the outstanding pro bono work carried out by students and law schools across the UK. 

  • The School of Law has been shortlisted in the Best Contribution by a Law School category.


Manchester Student Union Teaching Awards 2017

These awards ensure students can recognise teachers who have gone the extra mile to enhance their learning. 

  • Shau Chan, BA Econ Programme Administrator, in SoSS, has been shortlisted in the Best Support Staff category in the Manchester Student Union Teaching Awards 2017. 


The TARGETjobs Undergraduate of the Year 2017 

This annual awards competition aims to find the best undergraduates in the UK. Prizes include work placements, exclusive overseas trips and much more. 

Three Humanities students are shortlisted: 

  • Bridie Tubb, (Economics), Future Leader in Business Undergraduate of the Year
  • Max Thomas (Music with Spanish), Male Undergraduate of the Year
  • Hattie Jones (Management with Marketing), Female Undergraduate of the Year