Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Recent news

SEED’s Bina Agarwal launches book prize

(9 November 2017)

The International Association for Feminist Economics (IAFFE) has announced the Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize, which will be awarded biennially for a work of original scholarship in the field of feminist economics.

The prize has been established by Bina Agarwal, Professor of Development Economics and Environment in the School of Environment, Education and Development, IAFFE’s first President from the Global South. She founded the prize to honour her late parents, who, throughout their lives and with great generosity, supported young women to pursue their dreams of higher education, and chart out a path of intellectual excellence.

The prize will carry an honorarium of $1,000 USD and a citation describing the book’s merits, written by the Prize Committee. An additional amount of up to $1,500 USD will be available to assist in covering the prize recipient’s expenses to attend the prize ceremony at the IAFFE Annual Conference.

The inaugural prize will be presented at the 2019 IAFFE Annual Conference at Glasgow Caledonian University in Glasgow, Scotland. Subsequent prizes will be presented every other year at the IAFFE Annual Conference.

  • You can find out more about the prize, criteria and nomination process on the IAFFE website.